El Huarache Azteca

It is said that El Huarache Azteca is THE place to go in Los Angeles if you want a “huarache.”  The sad thing is that the times that I’ve been here, it wasn’t for a huarache.  Heck, I’ve never even had one, ever.  A shame, I know, but what can you do.  Just from trying to describe what it looks like, all I can say that it looks like a humongous sope.

But I can tell you this.  El Huarache Azteca serves a mean plate of Huevos Rancheros.  After browsing through blogs that dealt with the neighborhoods east of the LA River, I came across Chanfles.  It’s a great blog based in Lincoln Heights and gives you a perspective of Los Angeles that isn’t the Westside’s.  In addition to being a blog for the community, El Chavo seems quite dedicated in finding the perfect plate of Huevos Rancheros.  El Huarache Azteca is up there for him and after reading that the tortillas were deep fried, I just couldn’t resist.

The plate of Huevos Rancheros were just perfect for me.  Before this, I was only used to the tortillas that weren’t deep fried.  Little did I know how much of a difference deep-frying the tortilla could make.  Not only that, the eggs were cooked perfectly; the yolk was cooked just right where it didn’t run all over the place but just enough.  And then the ranchero sauce.  The tomato and chili are blended so well.  It fit my Korean palate just perfectly.  The same goes with the rice that comes on the side.

El Huarache Azteca is a nice spot in Highland Park.  The restaurant itself is very tiny but the food gets made pretty quickly.  If you’re here, you should probably try the huaraches as I’m probably not wrong in saying that it’s their specialty.  But if you’re here during breakfast, the huevos rancheros aren’t a bad choice.

El Huarache Azteca
5225 York Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90042
Phone: 323.478.9572

Huaraches Aztecas on Urbanspoon

One Response to El Huarache Azteca

  1. PCO Licence says:

    Great blog….Really enjoyed the content. Awesome stuff.

Leave a comment