There’s No Place Like Home

One day while driving on Hillhurst, I passed by Home. I have to admit, the things that catch my eye when determining where I want to eat is the name of the place and the setting. Of course, food determines whether I come back again or not, but the other characteristics aren’t things I look past. Anyway, with a name like Home and a huge shaded patio area, I just had to stop by. Today provided the perfect opportunity. Winter break, needing to meet up with a particular friend, and needing to eat lunch were good enough excuses to check Home out.

I drove by and I saw valet parking and I thought, not nice. But I passed the valet spot before I could react so I thought I had to drive around the block and I thought, not nice. But then it was a residential area with plenty of street parking with no need for a permit and I thought, niiccceee. So to anyone who decides to come here, look out for street parking! But read the signs yo, street cleaning.

My friend and I walked in and I thought, nicceee. I have no idea why the place is called Home but I liked it. There was plenty of shade and many seats. It was an awesome day, the sun was out, it was clear, okay, maybe a little smog, and the weather was perfectly cool. It was nice to sit outside without having to deal with all the cars whizzing by. Come earlier if you plan to have lunch here though. We got here a little past 12 and had no problems finding a table to sit at, but once we got our food, there was a sizable line.

I had the Mushroom Burger. It’s a “1/2 lb. hamburger patty served with fresh lettuce, tomato, onions, sauteed mushrooms, and topped with swiss cheese and our homemade sauce.” It’s kind of funny, homemade sauces or special sauces when it comes to burgers seem to be some variation of thousand island dressing. Whatever, variations of thousand island dressing are good enough for me. It was big. Once I held it, the juices were spilling. One thing I don’t like about burgers is that it gets messy, but hey, that’s what napkins are for, right? I got a side of onion rings and it was deep fried goodness. I would have loved it before, but I don’t know what it is about me these days but I am slowly developing some sort of incompatability with deep fried stuff. I don’t know what it is, I should be loving deep fried things, but it’s happening. Oh well, I won’t fight it. So burger was good and a few onion rings were good. After a few, it was too much for me to handle.

My friend got the Grilled Chicken and Avocado Club. Homeboy had no complaints. Here’s a picture:

Home was good. Moderate prices for eating out.  Great setting. If I’m craving a good burger, I would probably have Apple Pan on my mind. The burgers at my dad’s country club are pretty dang good as well. But I would go to Home for eating out with friends. And considering they have other things on the menu, I won’t limit myself to the burger. So I’ll be back. Because after all, There’s No Place Like Home.

Oh, and another thing… I got my December LSAT results back today. It looks like I can say with certainty, I’m staying in beautiful Los Angeles, The City of Angels. Gosh, I love this place. There’s no place like home 🙂

Home
1760 Hillhurst Avenue
Los Feliz, CA 90027
Phone: 323.665.4663
Delivery: 323.669.0211

Home on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment