Canelé

For most of my time at USC, I associated myself with international students from Korea.  It was part accident, part not.  A good thing about surrounding myself with the folks from Korea was that my Korean improved drastically.  It was kind of hard not to improve when these folks don’t really want to speak English and you end up having to speak Korean to them.  A bad thing about surrounding myself with the folks from Korea was that once they’re done with school, they’re going back to Korea.

L (her English is perfect) is off to Korea in due time so I figured I treat her out to a parting dinner.  I’ve noticed the international students limit themselves to only a few parts of LA.  Take S for example.  I thought I should throw something else into the mix to show that there’s just so much more to our great city of Los Angeles.  It’s so vast and there are so many things to try.  It’s a shame to have my friends from Korea study in LA but not get to really experience it.  So we ended up on deciding on Canelé in Atwater Village rather than the typical spots she’s used to.

Canelé seems to be a nice local establishment and I must say it’s a solid restaurant.  The ambience is definitely there.  But more importantly, the food is there too.  The menu is quite simple with various types of meat options to choose from.  We had the Avocado Citrus Salad to start.

It’s arugula with avocado and slices of grapefruit and oranges.  The citrus from the grapefruit and oranges went real well with the bitterness of the arugula.  It was nice to start our meal with something light.

I got the seared market fish, which was halibut today.  It comes with pea tendrils, green garlic, and saffron beurre blanc (butter).  The greens accompanied the halibut well.  But what brings everything together is the beurre blanc.  The seasoning on the halibut was a tad salty by itself, but taking the dish as a whole, it was great.

L had the clams.  Not much to say here other than she cleaned it up!  And got some extra bread to soak it into all that juice that was left.

Canelé was pretty solid.  They don’t go too crazy with the food.  It’s simple.  And I like simple.  The service there is quite friendly.  Food comes out promptly.  Really, no complaints and much praise.  And they give you a canelé on the way out.  A nice way to end the meal.

So I said my farewell to L.  But I have a feeling she’ll be back… often.  Haha, it’s the City of Angels.  How could anyone not come back?

Canelé
3219 Glendale Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90039
Phone: 323.666.7133

Canelé on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to Canelé

  1. sophia says:

    You hung out with FOBs!! Oh no….Why do they go back? Wonder what’s the pull of monogamous Korea…prob because it’s their hometown. I think you gave J a memorable last meal together in LA! 🙂

    • geo says:

      Haha, the real reason most of them go back is because of their visa-status, so they have to go back or they’ll be here illegally. And it makes it harder for them to get employed here because of their status here. And then there are those who are born here and have citizenship here but go back because it’s home.

Leave a Reply

