Röckenwagner Bakery

A German bakery in Mar Vista.

Nothing about Röckenwagner Bakery particularly screams German.  Then again, I don’t know much about German-fare either… sausage, beer, sauerkraut, and… pretzels?  They have an assortment of pretzels but aside from that, it’s mostly stuff you’d find in other bakeries: scones, pastries, croissants, etc.

But more than pretzels, I came here for…

Berliner Fridays!

Nice little donut filled with raspberry jam.  I love me some donuts.

Ich bin ein Berliner.
– John Fitzgerald Kennedy

Röckenwagner Bakery
12835 Washington Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90066
Phone: 310.578.8171

Röckenwagner Bakery on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to Röckenwagner Bakery

  1. sophia says:

    LOL!!! I like what you added about JK Kennedy’s quote. 😉

    I don’t know much about German fare either, but my guess is it’s because it’s not as sophisticated as French fare, or varied as Italian. It’s mostly simple fare, and prbly lots of liquor.

    I love pretzels, but not so the donuts. I’d steal your pretzel, and you can have your Berliner.

  2. weezermonkey says:

    The pretzel bread is fantastic!

  3. Carolin says:

    I’m German and talking about variety when it comes to bread we have a lot more than the French and the Italian together but mostly full grain. Pastry there is a lot but mostly heavy cakes, the French are way better on the small delicous things. Not sure Berliner and Pretzl make a bakery German, those are only the sterotypical things. By the way I’m from the North and we hardly have Pretzles here.

Leave a Reply

