Wurstküche

I find beauty in the free market.  I find the concept behind it a work of art.  It’s just so natural and free-flowing.  Somehow, that permeated to how I view things.  When it comes to city layouts, I like a free market approach. I prefer that over a planned approach.  It seems more lively while a planned city seems so sterile, you know, like The Cheesecake Factory.  My friend, S, an international student at USC from Korea, prefers planned cities.  I like Los Angeles, he likes Irvine.

I finally got to trying out Wurstkuche.  I wanted S to at least experience more of LA rather than limit himself to Koreatown, USC, Little Tokyo, and Beverly Hills before he graduates and goes back to Korea.  As I was driving and looking for this joint, without fail, S asks me why the area was so ghetto.  I finally find the damn place and what a surprise; not only was there abundant parking in the area but I never imagined this type of district being in Los Angeles.  Still S thought it was ghetto.

We walked in and was greeted with a bunch of sausages.  I ordered a Brat and Kielbasa and S ordered a Brat and a Hot Italian sausage.  We walk towards the back and was taken aback.  What a neat place!  S nodded in approval too.  Free market buddy; can’t get a place like this if someone plans everything; the market leads to innovation.  He chuckled.

Enough of our story and more about the sausages.  I ordered two but one would have been enough.  I did enjoy both.  As much as I love sausages, I’m nowhere near a connoisseur.  With that said, the brat was pretty good.  The kielbasa, a polish sausage, was great too.  It ain’t your store bought Hilshire Farm polish sausage that’s for sure.  You get to choose two toppings for each sausage, and I got the caramelized onions and sweet peppers.  They’re very generous with the toppings and I didn’t want it to take away the spotlight from the sausage so I scraped some off.  The Belgian, not French, fries are decent, but the dipping sauces… mm hmm hmm!  There’s a lot to choose from and we got the Curry Ketchup and the Pesto Mayo.  All you do is dip your fries in there but man, it’s good.

The wursts range from $6-$7.75 and they taste great.  I think that’s pretty reasonable.  As unenthusiastic as I may have sounded, Wurstkuche is probably a place I would like to frequent.  I played it safe today in terms of the sausages I ordered.  Now that it was good, I feel safe to move on.  I recommend that you check out their menu on their website to see the variety of sausages they have.  Actual descriptions of the wursts are on the menu on site.  And did I mention the staff is pretty friendly?  Probably not, but keep that in mind.

I love the surprises Los Angeles has to offer.

Wurstküche
800 E 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90013
Phone: 213.687.4444

Wurstküche on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to Wurstküche

  1. patty says:

    I went there during lunch on a Sunday and that place never fails me nor my friends.
    Always come out full and happy.

    Nice. Very Nice.

  2. Pingback: Canelé « The Hungry Trojan

  3. nikkibi says:

    I’ve tried some of the more adventurous sounding sausages and they still just taste like sausage. Nevertheless, I also will be going back. I LOVE their fries and sauces!

Leave a comment