Echo Park Taco Run

The appeal of taco runs is that when it’s planned right, you have several stops within a very close distance to each other. What’s more, you have a variety of meats to choose from. It’d be more than just an average carne asada taco at every stop.

To my knowledge, Echo Park’s taco scene may not be as exciting as Highland Park’s, but Echo Park has its gems as well.

(This is an ongoing post)

Bellevue Ave. & Laveta Terrace

As of now, this taco stand is my favorite place to get tacos.  Usually, tacos from taco stands run at $1 a piece. Here, it’s $1.25.  But this isn’t your usual taco stand.  Though they charge a quarter more, the portions are far more generous than other stands.  They definitely give you more than your brick and mortar taquerias as well.  But aside from their portions, the tacos themselves are great.

I wouldn’t say I’m a lengua snob, but the lengua here is money.  So money.  Just watching the lengua boil makes me content.  It’s so tasty and so very tender.  My favorite lengua taco, served here, on Bellevue.  Aside from bomb lengua, they have buche which is nice and crispy, they have pretty good carne asada, some pretty good chorizo, and plenty of salsa to choose from.  My usual fix here is two lengua tacos, one buche taco, and one carne asada taco.

Wait, what’s that deep fried goodness on top of my tacos… The crispy tortilla.  Just ask for some and they’ll gladly give it to you.  Save the crispy tortilla for last to scoop up all that meat that will fall out of your tacos.  You just made yourself a tostada.  It’s great I tell ya.

They also have quesadillas here for $2.50.  The tortilla isn’t so big but they pack that sucker with so much meat and cheese.  Awesome deal.

They set up on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday only at around 6pm-11pm.

Tacos Arizas on Sunset and Logan

Not too far away, you have Tacos Arizas. I’m assuming this truck, or trailer, is known for their carnitas as I’ve noticed that’s what many people order whenever I come.  So how is the carnitas here?  Tacos Arizas serves some mean carnitas.  Not as mean as Tacos La Estrella in Highland Park, but still some dang good carnitas.

But what’s my favorite taco here?  The tripas tacos.  I love me some good intestines.  Ever had some at a Korean barbecue joint?  Once I found out that intestine was a taco meat, I was game.  And Tacos Arizas is my favorite spot so far when it comes to tripas tacos.  Glorious.  So nice and crispy but not cooked so much that it’s all burned up.

Tacos Arizas seems to always be in this spot.

Salina’s Churros on Sunset and Echo Park

I’m not going to say these are the best churros I’ve had.  But hey, still good churros none-the-less.  Churros frecos?  Count me in.  8 for $3.  Oh fasho.  Ask for fresh ones, it’s worth the wait.  Finish off your Echo Park taco run with this dessert truck for one satisfying dinner.

This truck is usually here daily from 4pm-9pm.  There are times when they go over to El Sereno and park behind a Food 4 Less there.  So give them a call to see where they’re at (323-395-7925).

One Response to Echo Park Taco Run

  1. sophia says:

    I’m not the biggest taco fan…but churros?! Count me in! 8 for $3 is a freaking steal!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

