El Tepeyac (Manny’s)

Known for their monstrosity of a thing that they call a burrito, El Tepeyac, or Manny’s, has been in business for 55 years.  Manny’s is more than a place that serves a huge burrito and it’s more than just a restaurant.  It’s an Eastside institution to say the least.  And Manny, may I dare say, is like the godfather of Boyle Heights.  He even has the raspy voice to go along with it.

I’ve yet to try their burritos but I do love coming here for breakfast and getting some Huevos con Chorizo!  My dad’s office is conveniently located in Monterey Park and that makes it all the better for me to get my fix.  But seriously, Huevos con Chorizo, what a nice way to start the morning.

El Tepeyac (Manny’s)
812 N Evergreen Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90033
Phone: 323.268.1960

El Tepeyac Cafe on Urbanspoon

7 Responses to El Tepeyac (Manny’s)

  1. sophia says:

    I’ve been meaning to try this place sometime…I just never got the chance to because I feel like I’m surrounded by Latino eateris already. Your review just hopped it up on my list of priorities. ;-)

  2. bonnevivante says:

    I’ve always wanted to try this place!!!! But it’s kind of far for Mexican food.

  3. I love that you called it Manny’s. My dad always called it “Manuel’s” growing up, and I seriously didn’t know it was called El Tepeyac until I was like 25.

    Chicano food doesn’t get enough cred, but its the Mexican food I grew up on. Have you tried Ciro’s down the street?

    • geo says:

      No I haven’t. Do they have good breakfast? I’d have to convince my dad to forgo Manny’s Huevos Rancheros, haha.

      • Yeah, their breakfast is where they shine. Beware, though, if you go for any plate with bacon, they give you like 10 pieces. I’m not exaggerating.

        Their Mexican breakfast options are pretty gluttonously good.

  4. nothing but memories says:

    they make really really outstanding food and they are not stingy in the least! My second favorite restaurant in the whole wide world.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

