Campanile

Do you hear that?  That’s me giggling because that was an awesome dinner.  Do you hear that?  That’s me giggling because we got 30% off the bill through Blackboard Eats.

I’ve been singing to my parents about how I had this 30% off deal at Campanile and after a last minute reservation today, we were off for a good meal.  Apparently my parents have gone before so maybe that explains why I was more excited to go than they were.

We started with the Steamed Mussels.  It was a nice way to start the meal.  It’s light and it wet my appetite just enough.

Then our entrees came out.  I ordered the Oregano-Roasted Baby Lamb.  It was served on top of a ratatouille and some spinach.  The lamb was topped off with feta cheese.  The lamb was so tender and was cooked perfectly.  And I made sure to have some feta with every bite of the lamb.  Those two just went so well together.  The ratatouille also did a good job in complimenting the lamb.

My mom had the Pan-Roasted Sea Bass.  It’s served on a bed of corn, pea tendrils, and diced red pepper.  The light taste of the fish and the sweetness of the bed of vegetables made for a pleasant taste in the mouth.  I think I’ve got a thang for pea tendrils.  So pleasantly sweet!

My dad had the Grilled Prime Rib.  I keep telling him that real men order their meat cooked at least medium-rare.  He dismisses me and always orders medium.  He took a bite, looked up at me, and said, “I should have ordered it medium-rare.”  I told ya so!  Regardless, that was a pretty darn good prime rib.  So tender.  Seasoned so well.  Meat so tasty.  Good stuff.  It’s on a bed of beans which I don’t go too crazy about.  That’s okay because I just don’t have to eat the beans, right?  Good prime rib.

And then came dessert.  Strawberry Cobbler and Buttermilk Panna Cotta.

A nice warm strawberry cobbler with its tartness balanced out by the sweetness vanilla ice cream and fresh cream.  The sweetness of the panna cotta balanced out by a mango sorbet, some berries, and some crushed pistachio.  A great way to end a great meal.

Oh yeah, while we were waiting for our food, a little dog wandered in, quietly going from one table to another. It was kind of amusing watching this dog because it was roaming around the side walk as if it ran this town. The manager apologized for the dog and gave us some muffins from the bakery.  The dog was from a few doors down and somehow turned into Campanile’s “little mascot.”  It was never a problem for us but okay… thank you?  Ahaha.

It was great to try out one of LA’s finest restaurants.  It’s also nice to see Chef Peel walking around greeting his customers and asking about their meals.  Somewhat inspiring in the sense that it seems like he’s doing something he loves and is successful at it as well.

Now to find out what I love to do…

Campanile
624 S La Brea Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90036
Phone: 323.938.1447

Campanile on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to Campanile

  1. weezermonkey says:

    I am giggling about the dog.

  2. sophia says:

    Do you hear that? That’s me giggling at the thought of you, a tough Korean male, giggling.

    So you got free muffins because of the dog? Why can’t I have dogs in the places I dine too?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

