Redwood Bar and Grill

It’s a given… the traffic in Downtown, Los Angeles is horrendous. And that’s an understatement. After you manage to claw your way through the unforgiving drivers, the one-way streets, and just the sheer number of cars, you then have another problem to deal with. The parking. At least in the evening the parking lots charge flat rates, but the rates aren’t so friendly during the day.

So after me and and a friend of mine dealt with the traffic and parking issue, we walked over to Redwood Bar and Grill. The interior outfitted with a pirate theme. Interesting, but that isn’t a big deal. I’m not sure if Redwood Bar and Grill has a host or not, but when we walked in, there was nobody to greet us. We stood around, looking at each other and waited a little bit. I asked one of the servers if we were supposed to seat ourselves. I have to say, she wasn’t friendly and told us there’s nowhere to sit and walks off.

Okay… that didn’t go so well. Then I asked another server if it’ll take long to get a seat. His friendliness made up for the not-so-friendly coworker of his. We didn’t wait long and he took us to our table.

Happy hour is from 4-7. Appetizers are half-price and draft beer is $2. Not bad. But unfortunately, neither of us are of age. Soon though, very soon. So we ordered the crabcakes to start off with as an appetizer. I’m from Maryland. Well, I was born in Baltimore but moved out to Los Angeles when I was about two. But I still have family over in Maryland and I go there at least once a year. And in Maryland is where you find true crabcakes. The crabcakes there are more crab than cake. So you can figure that I wasn’t too impressed with these crabcakes. Three pieces and they were very tiny. The crabcakes here are not worth mentioning.

Now on to the main course. I ordered the Rock Shrimp BLT Panini. And may I add, it was pretty darn good. It’s what you would expect from a BLT: bacon, lettuce, and tomato, but a little more. “Rock shrimp sautéed with white wine, shallots, apple wood smoked bacon and avocado.” I’m not a big fan of bacon, but the whole sandwich was good. It all seemed like a good combination for a simple sandwich and the fries were pretty good too. Our server was also attentive and friendly, unlike the lady who we first encountered.

So I have to say, overall, Redwood Bar and Grill was a good experience. Good food, moderate prices. I’m definitely coming here again, especially since Downtown is so darn close to USC!

Redwood Bar and Grill
316 W. 2nd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: 213.680.2600

Redwood Bar & Grill on Urbanspoon

One Response to Redwood Bar and Grill

  1. Ju Rim says:

    I want new posts!! >.<

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

